How should I create a transactions table?

Copper Contributor

I'm relatively new to Access and only vaguely familiar with SQL and VBA.

I'm attempting to create a simple warehouse management system for a small business. So far I've had success with this database for simple tasks such as managing employees through forms, queries, and tables, but my biggest challenge yet is the actual management of the inventory. I'm trying to track serialized inventory, as my usual software is now being phased out. I have a small inventory in the warehouse and my technicians keep some on their vehicles. Altogether at any given time it hovers around 1,000 total items. These items are serialized and are "single use", so I will most likely never see the same serial number twice. What I would like to do is create a transactions table that shows when an item was issued to a technician, and create a history of this item. The fields I need in this table are "Serial Number", "Item Type", "Date Added", "To Tech", "From Tech", and "Transferred By". I have attempted it so far by using 3 tables: 

• Roster - All technicians available to be issued serialized items
    • Issued to "Tech ID"
  • Inventory - All serialized items available to issue
    • Issued from "Warehouse ID" 
    • Ideally I would like this inventory to be separate due to a power query I'd eventually like to set up that allows me to import directly instead of copy/pasting all serial numbers
  • Transactions - A list of items from "Inventory" joined with "Roster" to create a transaction log of what/where/when