How do you simply Capitalise first letters of words in a text box

Copper Contributor

I am new to Access software. I previously used Lotus Approach for my DB. But it no longer works in Windows 10. I have created a new DB in Access and transferred all my clients over. The problem I have is that the formatting has gone and I don't seem to be able to find how to Capitalise the first letter of someones name or street. In Approach there was a check box where you could check to capitalise the first letter of a sentence or the first letter of words entered into a field ie. First Street, or John Doe. There doesn't appear to be anything like that in Access. All I can find is people saying you need to write a string to do this and then a string to do that. Obviously Lotus where able to put this into the code of the software, so why is not it available in Access?

3 Replies
You'll want to use the StrConv() function, refer to

https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/office/vba/language/reference/user-interface-help/strconv-function

Do you could use the control's After Update event to apply StrConv to the controls value.

@Daniel_Pineault I haven't got a clue want any of this means. I don't do code. What is a string or a StrConv() function?

As I said in my original post I am use to Lotus Approach, which did all that for you by just checking a box on what you wanted to do. It was so simples. You need a degree to use Access.

Thanks anyway.

@David_Parker 

If you need to use Access, you probably need to invest some time and effort into learning how to use the various tools it provides--including VBA.  If not, then I understand Lotus Approach is still sold....

In this case, a string is simply that, a string, or series, of one or more characters. A string can contain both alpha characters and digits. For example, SN10101D is a string consisting of three alpha characters and 5 digits.