SOLVED

Filter form

Steel Contributor

Hello, I have a filter form with filters to be applied to a report on open. 

I want to be able to filter the report based on what I choose in cboDept. 

cboDept is unbound with has a rowsource query, bound column 1:

SELECT tblDept.ID, tblDept.Dept FROM tblDept ORDER BY tblDept.Dept;

On the field Dept in the report record source query I am referencing like this:

=[forms]![frmFilter_ShortByMonth]![cboDept]         this is the filter form

I dont get any hits but I should

I think it has something to do with

=[forms]![frmFilter_ShortByMonth]![cboDept]

as it might be searching for text

I thought I needed 

=[forms]![frmFilter_ShortByMonth]![cboDept].column(1) but that gives me an error. 

do you see something wrong?  I am not a coder by the way. 

thank you

19 Replies

@Tony2021 

Columns in combo and list boxes are Indexed, left to right, starting with 0.

That means Column(0) is the FIRST column.

The tricky part is that the form refers to the Bound Column by position. That means, if your combo box designates Column 1 as the bound column, you have to refer to it as Column(0).

=[forms]![frmFilter_ShortByMonth]![cboDept] would refer to the bound column by default, so that should pick up the first column, which is tblDept.ID, according to the SQL posted.

Or, you  could refer to it as

=[forms]![frmFilter_ShortByMonth]![cboDept].Column(0)

That's all pretty much what you are describing except for the issue of which column you need to specify if you want to include it.

To see more clearly what's going on, we'd have to look at the recordsource for the report itself and HOW and where you go about applying the filter to it.

@George Hepworth