Custom Auto-number field data type problems

Copper Contributor

I am just learning how to navigate Access and I am building a database which contains a 'Students" table with a custom auto number field, "Student ID".  The custom number is the prefix "ATD" with a four-digit number.  So the first auto numbered record in my table is ATD0001, the 2nd is ATD0002, and so on.  This is working just fine in this table.

In a different table, the "Student Grades" table, I created a look-up wizard for a "Student ID" field that utilizes the "Student ID" auto numbered field in the "Students" table as the drop-down menu source.  I also created a "Student Grades" form based on the "Student Grades" table.

The problem is that the data type for the "Student ID" auto number field in the "Students" table is "number" because it's an "auto number" I guess, even though it contains letters.  The datatype for the "Student ID" look-up field in the "Student Grades" table is also "number" because it is looking up information from a "number" datatype field.

When the drop-down field in my "Student Grades" form that is based on my "Student Grades" table looks up information from the auto number "Student ID" field in the "Students" table, I get this message "The value you entered isn't valid for this field".  It's looking for a number and the "numbers" in my auto number field are alpha characters and numbers combined.  I understand why it isn't working.  I'm just not quite sure how to fix this problem or if it is even possible to fix it.

As I said previously, I am new to creating Access databases.  I don't know how to code, and I pretty much know only basic stuff about building an Access database.  If anyone responds with a solution, please keep this in mind and keep the language and instructions very basic.

Thanks in advance to anyone who can help.

9 Replies

@Mprovost 

is your custom "Student ID" field really an Autonumber (long) field and just prefixing it with "ATD" on your form.