Creating an Inventory System with Bills of Materials

Copper Contributor

Hi there,

I'm new to Access and I'm developing a database for a small business that includes an Inventory table, where all parts are listed. I am hoping to create bills of materials for assembled products (finished goods), which would include some parts from the Inventory table (parts included depend on the finished good). I want to have a front end form where the user simply selects which finished good has been ordered, with a "complete work order" function that will automatically remove the specified part quantities from the current stock in the main Inventory table. I am unsure on how I should approach this, through tables, update queries, etc. 

Please let me know if anyone has developed a similar system, or any ideas on how I can move forward. All suggestions and expertise are welcome!

Thanks in advance.

7 Replies

@CDuest Ken Sheridan has a demo relational database application called BoM (in BoM.zip) on his OneDrive. It demonstrates the proper way to create a Bill of Materials relational database application.

Thank you!
Do you have any suggestions for logic behind removing an entire BOM from the main tblInventory? I believe an update query would work best, however I only have experience removing one part at a time based on a PartNumber and Quantity entered by a user.

@CDuest Being inexperienced with what you are asking about, I can't offer definitive suggestions.

However, in general, the technique is to start with delete queries that remove the records on the "Many" side a relationship, which is going to be the case with a BoM system. Then, when child records are deleted, you can run a delete query on the "One" side table(s) in turn.

My apologies, I may have been unclear with the term "remove" in my last response.