SOLVED

create Appointment Item in MS Outlook Calendar from Button in MS Access

Copper Contributor

Hi,

I am pretty new to Microsoft Access but find it really useful to keep my client contacts info, project info and invoices in line. I am trying to create a new leads database to keep track of my pipeline. I enter new inquiry info into tables using forms. I would then like to create Appointment Item in MS Outlook Calendar from Button in MS Access. It is just a single appointment going to my own calendar, based on filling in a form that look like this (see image below). Most of the information will populate automatically when I enter the EnquiryID, but I would like to enter the date, time and subject and then save it as an appointment into my own Outlook Calendar to remind me to do a follow up call on a certain date. Has anyone done anything similar?

forum question.jpg

13 Replies
best response confirmed by Julie1606 (Copper Contributor)
Solution
Hello Julie,
I have done this in Access with Visual Basic for Applications (VBA), but that probably exceeds your scope as you are pretty new to Access. Nevertheless, let me know if you would try to set this up with VBA.

Best regards,
Tieme

Hi @Tieme Woldman ,

I would really appreciate it if you could set this up with VBA. I have tried myself by cutting and pasting similar codes I have found without success. I have not used VBA before and may have missed some of the main steps.

Best,

Julie

@Julie1606 

Hello Julie,

I created an Access application for this, but I can not send Access files through this community. Do you have a regular mail address where I can send the Access file to? Maybe you can send the mail address to me in a direct message.

Short explanation

The application creates an Outlook-appointment on clicking the Add To Outlook button. Below an example of the form:

image.png

After filling the form and clicking the button the appointment appears in Outlook:

image.png