ACCESS field name error message

Copper Contributor

If I enter an incorrect field name, I get an error message:  "The field name you entered does not follow Microsoft Access object-naming rules. If you pasted the name from another application, try pressing ESC and typing the name again. For more information about naming objects, click Help."  If I choose OK to acknowledge, nothing happens. If I click "Help," I am taken to webpage for field name rules but error message remains. If I choose the "X" in the upper right corner of message, nothing happens. I cannot exit the program or continue once this error message appears and the only solution I have found is to restart my computer - which is frustrating. What can I do to get rid of error messages and continue. I am new to access and this is my 2nd database so I fully understand that I have a learning curve (I just want to learn and continue without restarting computer to get rid of message) HELP please.

8 Replies
Where and when are you trying to enter this field name? In a new table you are creating? There are reserved words in Access which should not be used for object or field names, including words like "Name" or "Date" and others. What is the name you entered?

By the way, the error message says press "ESC" and try again. Did you try that?
if you Copy/Paste the Field name from Excel or another app, chances is that your pasted fieldname has "unseen" non-printable characters (usually at the end of the text).

go to the end of the pasted text and use Backspace until you can delete a "normal" character.
Yes, in new table. I entered "borrowed by..." pretty sure the periods were not allowed. I did try the ESC key...the error popup remains
Did not copy/paste. Typed new field name prob used character that won't work...but I can't get past error message box to backspace or erase entry and retry