Access : Automatic filling a field by typing

Copper Contributor

Hi all,

i've been working with an Access Database for several years. The database works perfectly, but since I've upgraded from Windows 10 to Windows 11 Professional (64bit) the automated suggestion when typing in a field doesn't work anymore... or only for word beginning with A, B or C.

Of course I can manually use the rolling to find what I'm looking for, but it's a huge loss of time. My database has 27'000 records and I'm really embarrassed now !

If you look at the filed "Appellation" : usually when I type St-J then the system should automatically suggest "St-Julien" as it has already been used many times.

Many Thanks for your support !

Yves2023-02-18_Access.png

14 Replies
bring your form in design view and click on the troubled combobox.
on it's Property Window (right pane)->Data, Auto Expand should be set to Yes.

@arnel_gpmany thanks for your input. Your solution did not solve the issue. But, actually, it's very tricky, the problem only occurs on a computer with Windows 11 Professional... i'm speechless :(

@YvesBeck 

I do not see that problem with Windows 11, MS 365. 

You didn't mention the version of Access you are using. What is it?

Can you replicate this same problem on a new form, with a new combobox bound to that same recordsource?

If so, please consider sharing a sample accdb exhibiting the problem for review.

If not, that suggests there is a problem with that one combo box and replacing it might resolve the problem.

Many thanks for your answer George !
I'll check the different points you mentioned and let you know.

I use this version: Microsoft® Access® pour Microsoft 365 MSO (Version 2301 Build 16.0.16026.20196) 64 bits
bonjour
avez vous eu une réponse à votre problème ? car nous avons exactement le même.
la pré saisie ne fonctionne pas depuis la dernière mise a jour de windows 11
Hi George,
I've tried with a new form and combobox, but it does not solve the issue.