Access 2019 Unable to Compact or back up DBs

Copper Contributor

Hi

Help. I've recently installed a standalone copy of access.  I have some experience of using earlier versions.  Whenever I try to either compact or back-up a db, an error message tells me that my file is in use.  I have eliminated the possibility of old lock files and have ensured the folders I'm using all have full permissions.  I've also tried 'clearing the air' via a blank db as advised elsewhere.  Whether I attempt to initiate this process from'Database Tools compact & Repair' or via 'Home/Info', the results are always 'Could not Use - file nnn already in use'.  I realise that I can set 'Compact on Close' but this is not an answer and is no help at all for Backing up.   Am I doing something obviously wrong?

27 Replies

@jadedalan 

• How do you open it, just double-click?
    1. If yes, try press and hold Shift key, then double-click, do not release your finger until application opens. 
    2. press and hold Shift key again, use compact & repair
    3. use backup
  • check if its Shared or Exclusive, make it shared 
    • File\options\client settings\advanced, see open default mode

I hope that helps.

@jadedalan 
Is this a problem with only one accdb, or does it happen with any accdb you open?

Does any automation code run at startup?

If not, does this happen if you open the accdb and immediately try to run compact & repair before doing ANYTHING else?

Are you trying to compact & repair an accdb in a folder on your local computer, or in a network share?

@George Hepworth 

Hi George