Home

Embedding Yammer into an application

Deleted
Not applicable

I am not a developer, and I don't play one on TV. But I have been asked this and I hope you can help!

"I got a technical question for you. I'm developing an application called Macbeth and we already got a Yammer group where we post lots of tips about how to use the tool more efficiently. We'd like to go further and integrate our group feed directly into the application. We could embed the Yammer widget directly, but it's too massive and as it comes in an IFRAME we cannot really control the rendering. We'd prefer something lighter like a list of last posts' title for a start. The yammer api documentation is a good resource but the authentication seems a bit tricky to put in place. Our application is a pure JavaScript client app and to we need to call the api with a security token to be able to fetch the data. There is no SSO in place apparently. It seems that a good way to achieve that is to register a new application in Yammer. I'm not sure I should try that, because I'm not sure that the app I create is available only in Cargill, I can't afford to expose the app and its url outside of Cargill. Did anyone already did that? Thanks for the help."

Bueller? Bueller? @Tom Kretzmer ?
16 Replies

We've been pretty far down this path, Melanie. Some folks within MSFT have rebuilt an entire feed experience using the API (both supported and unsupported calls). This is an approach Yammer isn't terribly thrilled with, but neither have they provided an alternative, instead suggesting that we "deep link" into the native Yammer app from your LOB app. Implementing a list of the most recent posts should be straightforward, as it only requires the user's credentials to retrieve read-only data. I'm assuming you'd deep link to the threads in the Yammer app from that list.