SOLVED

Windows Virtual Desktop - Your computer can't connect to Remote Desktop Gateway server

Copper Contributor

I have successfully deployed WVD to my MSDN tenant following the steps 1 and 2 in https://docs.microsoft.com/en-gb/azure/virtual-desktop/tenant-setup-azure-active-directory and https://docs.microsoft.com/en-gb/azure/virtual-desktop/create-host-pools-azure-marketplace - I stopped during Step 2 at the optional components.  

I have deployed a Windows 10 Multi User desktop and when I login with the user that I gave access to during the setup I see the Icon for my "Session desktop" but when I try to launch I get the following error message.  "Your computer can't connect to Remote Desktop Gateway server.  Contact your network administrator for assistance."

32 Replies

@GuyPaddock 

Here's a curious thing about that.

I'm a Global Admin and Owner of the subscription. I was able to access the first VM via the web and new RDP client subscription. The subsequent 4 VMs cannot be accessed by me and the last 2 do not show up when I run the Get-RDSSessionHost command.

If I use the old traditional RDP client I can access the VMs.

I got everything working for us a few weeks back I setup as much as I could in advance in Powershell and made sure AZ domain services was running well and everything now works as intended. @GuyPaddock 

@tommy_barnes 

Okay, we don't have AZ Domain Services configured. I noticed that the last 4 VMs I created don't show up in Azure AD under devices. I was talking to my lead Sys Admin about setting up AZ Domain Services and he said it's not needed because we have that role enabled on the DCs that are hosted in Azure. I think we do need to have that configured. 

What are your thoughts?

@whitelines I have the same issue. A user account source from on-premises AD synchronised to Azure AD can not connect. The account can login to the VM locally. But if we try via the Web Client the "Open connection" fails. This is a sample error: