S4B Standard Edition deployement in a branch Site throught VPN Site-2-Site

Brass Contributor

Hi,

I'm currently studying the deployment of Skype For Business.

In my case:

- I have two sites A and B in two different countries. Let A be the main site.
- A Trunk SIP will be deployed only into main site A.

- I will have the same Active Directory on both sites and share the same SIP domain.
- Currently these two sites are linked together through a Site-2-Site VPN and each site has a firewall (TMG 2010).

My objectives:

- Have Skype For Business on both sites with full functionality.

My constraints:

- Use Skype For Business Standard Edition in main site A.

- I would like to have a complete installation of skype for business Standard Edition in the branch site B (no SBA and no SBS).

My question:

1- Is it possible to bypass the VPN for SIP traffic in the branch B site to avoid SIP performance issues?

Thank you!

9 Replies

Hi, why are you worried about the SIP traffic?

It's the *lighter* one that you will have to deal, the "heavy weight" actors there will be Media(A/V), Replication, Conferencing Data traffic and not the SIP (IMHO).

Hi Andrea,

Thanks for your Reply.

In fact, I'd like to bypass any traffics that is already secured by Skype either signal or media.

Yes, i already found this article. I am bot in the same case but i will try that.

Thanks!

Hello

The first question you should ask yourself is what you are trying to achieve? You mention that you're deploying a SIP trunk from an ITSP to Site A but not B. 

If you look at the call flows

Skype to Skype callers (audio and video) internal to Site B will negotiate media locally and not use the S2SVPN. So for this reason an FE in Site B is providing minimal benefit.

Users in Site B who want to make a federated call or IM will always go via Edge servers (assumed in Site A) which will go over the S2SVPN regardless of whether there is an FE in Site B or not.