SOLVED

Skype for Business (lync 2013) and CCE

Copper Contributor

Hi,

I manage all PBX's in my organisation and have been assigned to look into the CCE and the whole Cloud intergration.

I'm pretty new to this SfB and have been reading on it.

We currently have a Lync 2013 environment in our org and management wants to move to the cloud.

What I have a hardtime to understand is, can you have a on-premise Lync 2013, with a mix of SfB on-line users and the CCE component in order to leverage local site PSTN gateways? Or is is On-Premise or off, but not both?

Thanks

6 Replies

Hi Nelson,

welcome to the world of Skype for Business.

A good starter to learn about Cloud Connector Edition isthe following training session (about 1 hour and 5 minutes) http://aka.ms/sa-cce

To answer your question below directly: currently it is not supported to have Skype for Business on-premises (or Lync Server 2013) and Cloud Connector. this is something we received a lot of feedback about and we are working on it.

However you can host some of your users from your on premises environment to Skype for Business Online and leverage your existing gateways via the existing Lync 2013 pool -- we call this option Cloud PBX with on premises PSTN connectivity. At the same time other users can take advantage of what we call Cloud PBX with PSTN calling -- where the PSTN connectivity is provided by Microsoft. Please note that currently Cloud PBX with PSTN calling is availabe in the US, Puerto Rico, UK and as Preview in France and Spain.

Hope that helps, please let me know if there are any more questions.

thomas

Thanks for your reply.

so im confused, your stating that I cannot have on-premise users that are registered to my on-premis Lync2013 use local PSTN? I guess im not understanding the CCE correctly.

Is the CCE not an extension between the cloud registered users and a site's local PSTN connectivity, rather it me SIP SBC or PSTN Gateway?