SOLVED

Sharepoint Supported Upgrade Paths

Copper Contributor

I am pretty new to the SharePoint world and looking for input. 

I am currently on SP13 on prem, but thinking that it may be time to do an upgrade.  There are a couple different paths that can be taken, but want to make sure it is the right one for us and is a supported upgrade path.  With that, I am looking for insight on what is a supported path going from:

- SP13 to SP16

- SP13 to SP365

- If we are to move to SP365 can anyone provide detail on the level of customizations

allowed, as our current setup is heavily customized?

- SP13 to SP19

- I do understand that this is not out yet, but trying to figure out if this would even be a

possibility.  Also, we may not be in a place to make an upgrade until close to

time for SP19 to be released, so it may be better to wait until SP19 is release before

we make the jump. However, I have heard 2 different opinions regarding skipping a

version: 

1. It would not even be possible to skip, you would have to upgrade to      

SP16 and then upgrade to SP19

2. It can be done going straight from SP13 to SP19

I need to have some facts that will prove or debunk the first option.

Any thoughts on this would be greatly appreciated.

2 Replies

Hi Erica, There are many variables to consider when upgrading but for simplicity I would evaluate:

• SP13 - SP16 fully supported
  • SP13 - SP365 lots to consider here but the long term bet is here, IMO. On premise is a commitment from Microsoft so one further option to consider is Hybrid (both On Premise and Cloud). This would allow you to leverage customisation you can’t yet move to the cloud, which is diminishing, and move workloads which can be easily moved to utilise the wider benefits of Office 365. Bear in mind licensing and infrastructure needs for this option and more expertise.