SOLVED

Joined Lists and Data View Web Parts

Copper Contributor

Apologies if this has been addressed, but I haven't been able to find any answers.

I'm not a developer, just a (at one time) fairly sophisticated user -- of SharePoint 2010. I'm now in a SharePoint Online environment.

My question: I used to to be able to define 'joined lists' in SP Designer and then place a Data View Web Part onto a page (using SP Designer Visual Editor) in order to display the joined data. What is the 'modern' equivalent of that (rather simple, IMHO) process? I can still join the lists in SP Designer to create a Linked Data Source, but:

1. With no Visual Editor in SP Designer I'm struggling to get the lsits displayed;
  2. When I do manage to display (something quite ugly) it does not appear that the Data Source is actually of the joined lists data -- only one list's data is showing.

So, question 1: what should a simple user use as a Visual Editor for SharePoint Online? Do I need to get Visual Studio (which I have zero experience with) or is there another tool recommended?

Next I have stumbled through the plethora of 'new' tools which have appeared, and found:

1. Trying to use Access WebApp on the site, I can set it up and connect to the data sources... but Access does not load all the fields/columns from the target lists. I know Currency and Lookups don't come across, there may be others -- so this looks to be a dead end;
  2. Trying to use PowerBI, I can set up a report/dashboard on the tools, but cannot then seem to find a method to embed the resultant view on a SharePoint page on the site. Also because the report/dashboard exists outside the domain, it doesn't like to pull across images stored on the site for use in the report.
  3. I haven't tried to create a PowerApp as I haven't managed to understand the interface, let alone how to approach what I need to do!

To reiterate: