Microsoft Teams vs O365 Groups vs SharePoint

Deleted
Not applicable

I have spent too many hours trying to find a SIMPLE explanation of when to use which of the subject options. I've watched videos, I've read white papers and I've looked at slide presentations... and I'm more confused than ever. It's kind of frustrating actually, Microsoft is always coming out with something new... don't get me started on Communications sites, MS Flow and PowerApps. As an O365 admin, I'm struggling to keep up and be knowledgable enough to advise the users I support. A lot of users are creating Groups, which now come with an associated SharePoint site, and we (admins) have no way to govern these sites. They aren't even listed in the SharePoint admin center.

I can't stop users from creating new groups (btw, most aren't even using the SharePoint teamsite that comes with a group). But I need to be able to give advice on when they should use SharePoint instead!

3 Replies

You can definitely stop users from creating Office 365 Groups and associated team sites.   Here is one way of doing it - Control who can create Office 365 Groups.  With this in place, only the people who are in a security group that you create, will be able to create Office 365 Groups in these apps (Outlook, Planner, SharePoint, Yammer, and Microsoft Teams).

I agree there could be better guidance on the different options available and the best use of each one.  It's worth remembering Microsoft Teams are built upon Office 365 Groups.

Hi Allison, this is the new world, a constantly change cloud service with lots of different ways to achieve the same thing. No one answer is right in all circumstances.