Custom O365 Provisioning Wizard - Worth it?

Iron Contributor

My enterprise (an affiliated group of several manufacturing companies) is at the conceptual design phase of adopting Office 365. An external consultancy that we asked to support us on this process presented a solution that on it's core consists of a provisioning wizard that, after gathering some meta information, creates O365 Groups for us. The Meta Data shall then be used on something that seems to me like an alternative "SharePoint Home" to allow the user finding relevant groups (respective Teams, Planners, SharePoint Sites, etc.). The Meta Data shall also help the admin team to manage the groups.

To say the truth I am very skeptical with the current solution. It seems to me that they come from a former on premise world and their first thought is "hey, let's make a provisioning wizard! This is what we always have done since 2007". (please apologize my sarcasm)

I am not in a position to make decisions - I am a tech guy with a SharePoint background since 2007 - but what I can do is express my concerns and underpin it with solid arguments. So can you support me with your thoughts on this solution and perhaps with hints to blog posts by MVCs or official Microsoft statements which I can turn into reliable references?

5 Replies

Yes and no. This really seems to come from the 2007-2010 world, we have all done this kind of solution. It may be truely superficial for you enrollment of new groups and sites and just for the sake to make a bit of money with some custom coding.