SOLVED
Home

Teams desktop and mobile app vs browser app

Highlighted
Nithish Hulikanthe Math
New Contributor

Teams desktop and mobile app vs browser app

Hi guys,

I am new to teams and I just wanted to know if there are differences in Teams client and Teams Web-client. Differences keeping in mind both mobile app and desktop app. Are there any features which is available only on browser and not on app and vice-versa? 

Thank you in advance.

Regards,

Nithish

19 Replies

Re: Teams on-premise vs cloud

HI @Nithish Hulikanthe Math,

Do you mean the difference between running the Teams app and Teams within a browser?

Yes they are very different. Just an example: the developer preview is available within the browser but not within the app. Also things like video calls are not available on the Windows Mobile App, there it is available within the desktop app.

Then the mobile apps  have very much reduced functionality

Solution

This is how Microsoft describes the web client and limitations:

The web client (https://teams.microsoft.com) is a full, functional client that can be used from a variety of browsers. At this point, the web client does not support real-time communications (i.e. joining meetings and having one-to-one calls).

I'd describe these as the desktop app and the web client rather than on-premise vs cloud, which is a confusing way of looking at it.

Additionally, this was asked recently: Q: What is the advantage of using the desktop app vs the browser version?

A: The desktop app gives you full functionality in Teams - like calling and meeting and desktop sharing. The browser version today doesn't support calling and meetings. We will be adding calling and meeting support for Edge & Chrome by end of this year but sharing your screen will still require the desktop app. Performance is better in the desktop app due to data caching.

So if you have the choice, the desktop app is the way to go.