Hi, I'm new to Microsoft Teams and have been tasked with evaluating the application to see if it is something that would be beneficial for my office.
If someone creates a Team/group and starts adding documents, creates a OneNote in the Teams app, etc. but then gets a new role and needs to transfer Ownership to someone else.. will the old owner, once removed from the 'Team', still be able to access the OneNote they started (even though it was from within the Teams app)? I hope I'm making sense..
Membership and permissions is based on the Office 365 group that gets created in the background! Also it depends on the type of team (group) you create! If it’s a private team only members of the team (group) can access data within. If it’s a public team, others can access data outside of the team via sharepoint! So I guess it depends on what kind of team you choose!
When a team owner and/or member is removed from the Team, they will lose access permissions to Share Point files, OneDrive etc. Access permissions are based on the underlying Office 365 group.
This does not apply to files shared via chat however. If I share a file to someone else via chat, the file is copied to a folder in my personal OneDrive folder, so I would have access to these even if I was removed from a Team (makes sense, as chat is outside of an individual Team).
It does. Our biggest problem right now is that when someone creates a OneNote notebook for their role and shares it with others, then moves onto a new role there's no easy way to transfer ownership of the notebook so we instead end up spending inordinate amounts of time transferring info from the old notebook to a new one.. but then of course if the NEW owner gets a new role as well, we're tasked with doing that all over again. It's ridiculous.
My hope is that if a notebook is created within a group in Microsoft Teams, it doesn't matter who created it. Once a person is removed from the group in Teams, they will lose access to any and all Notebooks created in Teams, even if they were the creator, and everyone left in the group can still use them.
Based on your response, it sounds like this would be the case, which is awesome. Thanks.