Intune Windows 10 device enrollment without logged user

Iron Contributor

Hello and greetings from Portugal,

I'm quite new at Intune and I'm trying to do something that I don't know if it's even possible.

We already have Windows 10 devices Hybrid Azure AD Joined, and now I'm trying to add them to Intune. 

Already enabled GPO to allow automatic enrollment, I see that the schedule task is created, but than I event viewer I get the error: auto mdm enroll error "0xcaa9004d"

I believe this happens because I'm logged in with an user with license.

But...I was wondering if it's possible to enroll my devices to Intune without the need of a licensed user logged in and with using AutoPilot.

Best regards,

Diogo Sousa

9 Replies

Hi @Diogo Sousa,

Have you taken a look at 'Autopilot Self-Deploying Mode'?

https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/deployment/windows-autopilot/self-deploying

Cheers,

Chris Jacob

Hi @cjitsolutions

Tks for you reply!
We're not looking to Autopilot just yet but...we'll see it in a near future, but, still need to register machines without a logged user but having no clue how to do it :(

@Diogo Sousa 

OK no problem.

You need to log into the device as a user with an EMS license assigned for it to communicate with Intune, or, have a device license assigned to the device.

Out of interest, are you able to manually enrol the device into Intune via the 'Access work or school' menu? Perhaps try that first to confirm the device can connect successfully. Then go from there.

@cjitsolutions 

Hi CJ,

Yes, it's possible to do it manually.

The thing is...can't understand why it needs a validated EMS license.

I already use Hybrid AD Join so...the machines are already validated.

Hello everyone and greetings from Portugal!

After some time I'm getting into this topic again :)