Duplicating Device Configuration Profiles

Brass Contributor

Duplicating Device Configuration Profiles

7/24/2019 - 13 Minutes to read

One of the highest voted feature requests in Intune UserVoice is the ability to duplicate Device Configuration profiles and for good reason.

I work in the Education sector, so I'm deploying carts of laptops to multiple classrooms in multiple schools. Generally, the whole school would have the same profiles assigned to all devices but teachers can be pretty fickle about what restrictions should and shouldn't be on their classroom's devices. So if a couple classrooms want to have one or two things changed for their carts, I'd be stuck in the portal, clicking away and comparing until I have four or five profiles that are exactly the same, aside from those tiny changes. It's a huge time suck having to do that and some setting always gets missed. Lucky us, (almost*) the entire Intune UI front end is built using Graph so anything we can do in the UI, we can also do in Graph.

Let's say that the entire school has a profile applied to all devices but one classroom wants to block the camera. To do this through the UI, we'd have to start from scratch and dual monitor or split screen two windows to have the default profile open while we configure the one-off profile. But let's see how we can do this through Graph to speed up the process and help eliminate missed settings between the two profiles.

I use two methods to view the profile through Graph. Between the two, the one that I use just depends on if I have Graph open already. If I don't have Graph open, I'll start in the portal. We'll start with that method first.

Method 1 – Using Developer Tools from your Browser