Home

Introducing Rik Hepworth - Microsoft Ignite Community Reporter

Highlighted
Rik Hepworth
MVP

Hi I'm Rik Hepworth and in my day job as Chief Consulting Officer at Black Marble I run the consulting team which spans a range of technologies and services. I am extremely fortunate to work for an organisation that believes strongly in engaging with the community which means that I am often found at conferences and community events, and which led to my MVP award in Azure. Over the years I’ve worn many different hats, from the guy who manages the desktops and servers, through SharePoint and now cloud and Azure Stack. I’m most comfortable helping my customers with architectural, technology choice and governance issues – I’m not a developer so don’t ask me to code, although my PowerShell-fu isn’t bad.

RikHepworth.jpg

Outside work I suppose I fit the geek stereotype of sci-fi loving, lego-building, gamer, and I’m happy to engage in discussion on any of those topics. I was lucky as a student to meet the people who managed the University’s fledgling PC network (yes, I’m that old) and was allowed to get involved whilst still an undergrad. I spent many years post-graduation working as part of the team and it exposed me to pretty much all aspects of running a large organisation’s computing service, from network cabling and comms through to infrastructure management and end-user support. That was a great foundation for my current role as it gives me a good understanding of and respect for the people that I now engage with.

I've never found another Rik Hepworth so type that into your favourite search engine. You can follow me on:

If you could give one piece of advice to someone just starting their career in IT, what would you tell them?