Home

Introducing Josh Blalock - Microsoft Ignite Community Reporter

Highlighted
Josh Blalock
MVP

Introducing Josh Blalock - Microsoft Ignite Community Reporter

My name is Josh Blalock, and I am a Microsoft MVP in the Office Apps & Services category. Specifically, though, my passion and focus is on Skype for Business and Microsoft Teams. I am also a Principal Consulting Engineer for CDW, where I have the privilege of strategizing with customers about how to bring unified communications to life in their unique environments.

JoshBlalock.jpg

I hale from the Tampa Bay area in Florida, so I won't complain about the 1 hour and 45 minute drive as I think about how far away so many are flying in from.

My career began in the United States Air Force, administering Exchange 5.5 servers in Okinawa, Japan, and I worked across the spectrum of Microsoft applications and servers since that time. I found a real passion area, however, once I began seeing the real power of a truly unified communications experience with Lync Server. This has led to a heavy focus on Lync, Skype for Business, Office 365, and now Microsoft Teams – and involvement in the social communities around these products has been what has kept me hooked ever since!

You can follow me on:

If you could give one piece of advice to someone just starting their career in IT, what would you tell them?

Never presume to know everything about a particular topic, even if that is your specialty area; you can always learn more. Embrace opportunities to continue learning, no matter what level you are at in your career.

How do you stay up to date with changing technologies and updates?

RSS feeds to blog sources where you know the latest industry news breaks is helpful, but I would argue that Community is far more powerful. Staying plugged in to key influencers and hashtags on sites like Twitter and LinkedIn has been the best way for me to get the very latest news, from the individuals who live and breathe this content.