Home

Introducing Ami Arwidmark - Microsoft Ignite Community Reporter

Highlighted
Ami Arwidmark
MVP

Hi I'm Ami Arwidmark, and I'm a Microsoft MVP and a technical evangelist for Adaptiva.

AmiCasto-Portrait-1000x1000.jpg

I travel the world and talk to IT Pros about Windows 10 and security. My family and I live in a tiny town in Illinois (~1,000 people!) with our three rescue horses and three rescue dogs. I didn't start my career in IT. I was a horse trainer first and IT seemed like the logical next step. If you find me at the conference, I'd love to hear your IT journey and talk to you about Windows 10, horses, and dogs.

You can follow me on:

If you could give one piece of advice to someone just starting their career in IT, what would you tell them?

Take a deep breath! Do not under any circumstances be afraid to ask for help or feel like you don't belong. We all started off knowing nothing. You'll figure out quickly that there are plenty of IT Pros on your side.

How do you stay up to date with changing technologies and updates?

I use Twitter, and I have a specific list of accounts that I check for news, posts, etc. Tons of great people from Microsoft are very active on Twitter and they share great info.

How has IT changed since you first started your career?

While there are super cool innovations, like everything going on with Azure and AI, there is a huge focus on security and accessibility like never before. It's all awesome to see. I always feel like I'm a step behind and I need to stay on my toes, work a little harder and that's a good thing.

What advice would you give to a first-time Microsoft Ignite attendee?