Home

Introducing Alex Mang - Microsoft Ignite Community Reporter

Alex Mang
MVP

Hi! I'm Alex Mang, Azure MVP, fitness enthusiast (another way of saying that I like to brag about things I don't do often enough), tech savvy cloudee and the one to question many things. I'm originally from Romania and more specifically from Transylvania, though if you ask my friends it would seem that I mostly live out of my luggage as I travel so much.

AlexMang.jpg

At heart, I'm a software developer and I strongly believe I will always be a software developer. My utopia world is one where AI and software handles "things" and human beings live their lifes to understand the bigger purpose of their existence, they spend their time learning, understanding, teaching, sharing wisdom and knowledge and knowing the world. That’s probably the reason for why I'm so fond of teaching Azure, engaging with communities all over the world, developing AI based apps and promoting technologies which requires close to zero human interaction, such as serverless.

Fifteen years ago, when I started as a software developer, the possibilities were limited in comparison to what we're offered today by providers and vendors such as Microsoft, and yet I somehow miraculously still managed to develop robotic applications, embedded systems, AI on top of CCTV solutions, mobile, desktop and web applications alike.

You can find me on:

If you could give one piece of advice to someone just starting their career in IT, what would you tell them?

Don't hesitate, always question everything and never stop researching - the moment you start to feel you know 'things', you're ready to go from the 'spelling book' further to more advanced patterns and underlying infrastructures. Also, if I've learned one thing throughout my career that is that everything which seems new is, most likely, a reimplementation of a very old pattern which has been around 'forever'.

How do you stay up to date with changing technologies and updates?