Conditional Formatting based on Separate Column

Copper Contributor

HI, I'm new to excel formulas and conditional formatting!  I'm using a spreadsheet to track new hires, and I'm trying to figure out how I can use "less footsteps" and not have to apply conditional formatting to every.single.cell. in a column.....  I'd like to be able to type in something into my "L" column, and have the "D, M, N & O" columns to change color based on what is typed.  I know that I can go in and individually click on the cells and then conditionally format them, but I'm going to have well over 300 different entries that I'm going to be working with.  I'd love to get that time back!  I've tried searching on this forum but can't find what I'm looking for....Thanks for your help!  I've attached a snip to show what I'm working with.  :)

3 Replies

From your screenshot, I do not know when "New Hire" and those column should be highlighted.  

I think, if you are new to excel, you may not have the ideas of "Relative Reference", "Absolute Reference" and "Mixed Reference".

Using Contional Formatting, in the rules, you can use the mixed reference address. For example, I guess you want to highlight Column M whenever Column L is "Transfer".  Your conditional formatting rule in Column M can be do it in this way:

1. Select M2 (The cell at row 2 in column M)
  2. Home > Styles > Conditional Formatting > Manage Rules
  3. New Rule
  4. "Use a formula to determine which cells to format" (you probably have done it)
  5. This step is one of the key that you need to know.  You can type the following formula
    =$L2="Transfer"

The above formula is using Mixed reference address.  

6. Apply the format you want
  7. Click ok button
  8. Now, you should be still in Conditional Formatting Rules Manager dialog.  You can see "Applies to", you can select the cells that you want the rule applies to, i.e. $M$2:$M$100.
  9. click ok.