Vertical Line Charts

Copper Contributor

Hey Everyone!  I've been working on this problem for a few days now and I can't get it going.  I need to create a vertical line chart.  It's easier to show in photos.  I have this....

Line Graph (Horiz).png

I want it to be rendered like this (created by rotating previous photo).....

Line Graph Vert.png

What would become the Y-axis (the categories) are text.  I've tried just flipping the axes in the "Select Data" dialog box, but I think the problem is that Excel keeps wanting anything on the Y-axis to be numerical rather than textual; it then messes up the values of my data across the X-axis when I try just flipping the two.

Anyone have any ideas?  I am not a coder; I can't write VBA.  I'd be willing to learn, but I'm in the middle of thesis writing so that would be difficult to add at the moment.  

Thanks in advance!  

-Mike

7 Replies

A quick Google for 'excel vertical line chart' and I found this which might work - https://www.goodly.co.in/vertical-line-chart-in-excel/

That is a rather unusual way to present data. Have you considered a horizontal bar chart?

I've tried that approach.  Unfortunately it doesn't work for me since my Y-axis is categorical, not numeric.  That's a workaround that only functions in the example because of the numerical nature of the categories.

I have looked at that, and I can make it work need be.  I am aware that this is an unusual presentation.  I am an archaeologist, and this is showing counts per excavation level; the presentation makes sense because I can show data points as each level gets deeper.  The lines are easier to see than the bars, mainly because I have several different material types which are quantified and presented simultaneously.  I would love the horizontal bar charts if I could add a line from data point to data point (rather than a a trend line).  However, I cannot find a way to add that either.