Need help with a multi-formula row count (Excel 365)

Copper Contributor

I'm working on coming up with a formula for counting rows with data on a sheet, within a particular cell range (ex: A2:E100), where if there's any data (numeric, alpha, or mixed) in any of the cells (regardless of how many cells in that row have data, so long as at least one cell does) in the specified range it will count that row as "1", and deposit the answer in another cell (ex: G2).

This would also ignore blank cells and cells that contain a space or formula.

In the below example the total would be "8", as we're skipping the header row (row 1) and row 7 contains no data (or has a space or hidden formula).  I'm thinking this will likely require a multiple array formula, however I'm not experienced enough with Excel at the moment to create more than somewhat basic formulas.

The best I can come up so far based on what I've already found online would start something like [ =SUMPRODUCT((A2:E10000<>"")+0) ] (without brackets), however this calculates each cell individually and doesn't ignore anything other than blank spaces.  Possibly throwing in a COUNTIF function, and/or summing up all cells in range where Excel sees data and subtracting a COUNTBLANK formula.

Regardless, I'm a bit out of my depth with it, so any help would be greatly appreciated.

ABCDEFG
1Header1Header2Header3Header4Header5 Total=
21     8
3  X    
4 27     
5   55   
6    92A  
8  BB    
9U32      
10H409C2ZY3QA33  
5 Replies
Hi

Could you give a bit more background in to why you need to do this and how many different sheets this formula is going to be applied to.

Do you need the formula to instantly update?

I'm thinking Power Query could be an approach but would need to be refreshed on demand

Also, when you say "ignore formula" do you just want to ignore formula returning "" or ignore all formula

Thanks

@Wyn Hopkins 

Hi Wyn!