SOLVED

Looking for trends in unrelated related data

Copper Contributor

I don't know if this is in the exact right spot, but here goes.

Let's say that I'm a biologist analyzing litters of puppies:

• I've got six litters I want to analyze.
  • Each of those litters could have anywhere from five to ten puppies.
    • Each one of those puppies should be identical (for the sake of the thought experiment), but there's variation between each one.
  • Each of those puppies has roughly 30 different areas of the body that I want to analyze.
    • These 30 areas are the exact same spots on all of the puppies across the six litters, and, functionally speaking should be identical to each other of the chosen areas on the same puppy
  • For each one of those areas, I'm investigating aspects of up to each of the following features: skin, fur, and muscle
  • Each one of those features has a given set of characteristics
    • Fur: length, density, color, pattern
    • Skin: color, pattern, elasticity (okay, I know that sounds weird, but I'm grasping at straws for this analogy)
    • Muscle: strength, volume, stamina (lots and lots of straws being grasped)
  • Combining the above results in hundreds of trios of data that I'm trying to analyze: Area - Feature - Characteristic
  • Each trio has its own unique set of allowable values:
    • Area 2 fur length can be between 1 and 2 inches, whereas area 18 fur length can be any length under 4 inches
    • Area 7 skin color can be pink, white, or black, but area 20 skin color can only be brown
    • The Area 12 muscles need to be strong enough to lift 4 lbs, but there is no specification for the strength of the Area 2 muscles
  • Each unique trio of data points has the same allowable range as that same trio of data points across all puppies across all litters