Inputting data to correlate with a date

Copper Contributor

Hi all,

I am trying to learn Excel as I go along so please feel free to tell me if there is a better way to achieve what I am doing.

I have a master tab showing dates along the top and names down the left hand side. When I click a name it hyperlinks to that individual's tab where he/she answers several questions. There is a formula to turn all of these answers into a single result, which I would like to display on the master tab to correlate against the individual's name and that day's date.

I don't think I can just use =!(name)C4 for example, as that tab will be opened again and different answers given on subsequent days - i need the result to be pushed to the master tab. Is that possible or is there another way that I need to be looking at this?

Ideally any solution should be Excel 2010 compatible!

Many thanks

6 Replies

@Dirk_gently25 

I am guessing that Joe Blow's tab is named Joe Blow. If you want a cell on the master worksheet to show the results for Joe Blow on a certain date, you can use the INDIRECT function to build the reference on the fly. The INDIRECT function lets you build the formula pointing to a cell (or range) as text. INDIRECT then returns the value from that target cell.

Let's suppose that you want to return a value from Joe Blow's cell C4 today, D4 tomorrow and E4 the day after that. If Joe Blow's name appears in Master cell A2, you could copy across and down a formula like:

=INDIRECT("'" & $A2 & "'!" & CELL("address",C$4)) & ""

The formula concatenates an empty string in case Joe Blow's cell C4 is empty. Without the & "" at the end, the formula would return 0 if the target cell were empty. Potentially offsetting that good feature, concatenating an empty string will turn a number into text that looks like that number--so the trick is best to use when you know cell C4 will either contain text or be blank.