I need help with Excel

Copper Contributor

Sorry, I have posted this earlier but it has been marked as spam even though I have a legitimate question.

I'm new at this. I've tried to search for an answer through the existing posts, but I couldn't. Here is my issue. There must be a very simple way to do this, but I couldn't succeed by myself. 

I am building a calculation sheet for pipe welding. The user must put in some parameters in order for the sheet to calculate. The problem is, with pipes, most techs work with the nominal diameter and the schedule, but for the calculation, I need it to be converted to actual diameter and thickness. I have a chart that lists the nominal diameter and gives the thickness related to the schedule while also giving the actual diameter.  I would like to be able to have the user select the nominal diameter in a dropdown list, then the schedule in another dropdown list, and have a function that takes these 2 pieces of information to select the real diameter and the thickness in the chart to use them in the calculations. an example of the chart can be found here: https://www.rolledalloys.ca/tools/pipe-chart/

Does somebody have an idea of how to do this without using any macros?

Thanks in advance

6 Replies

If I'm not mistaken outside diameter of the pipe are always the same. Inside diameter is decreasing with thickness increase.

Here's a tutoriral for drop down list https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KGnvCKiOLM0.

Do not understand what are you trying to calculate ?

I'm also in pipe welding branche (IWE).