Get&Transform / Power Query stuck on load to Data Model

Copper Contributor

Hi all,

I have been working with Power Query / Get&Transform for several years now, and have now run into a problem I have never encountered before. What I am trying to do is load a new query to the data model. Normally this is no problem, but the last few days even the simplest of queries (e.g. 5 rows, no edits) get stuck. When I load a query it returns the "xxx rows loaded" message in the Workbook Queries pane, but the loading wheel (the green dots) is still going in a circle. When I check the data model the data is also not visible. So far the loading has never stopped (unless I cancel the query) since I encountered this problem. The size of the query does not matter, I tested it with a very simple query of 5 rows, and this does not load either.  

If I change the load to options I can load the query as connection only without any issues. Loading as a table at times also results in the eternal loading issue (even though it does generate some of the data). Thus far I have not encountered the issue while refreshing/editing existing queries.  

I've uninstalled/reinstalled office multiple times, even using the office remove tool, and this solves the issue for a short period (sometimes a few days, other times a few hours). I have not been able to discover any kind of consistency in when the problem starts to happen ( e.g. refreshing a specific query or something), but once it happens I can no longer load any new queries. I am using office version Pro Plus 2016.

I've checked all over the web, but have not seen any other posts regarding this eternal loading issue, so I hope one of you can help me figure this out.

Kind regards,

Stephan

17 Replies
Hello,

Let's try this steps and hopefully, it works
1. Click on Get Data dropdown
2. Select Query Options
3. In the Data Load pane of the Query Options dialogue box, Clear Catch and Restore Defaults
4. Click OK.