Formulas

Copper Contributor
Hi
I am new to excel as I have recently started a new job so this may be a simple one to answer. I need to create a table which will have 3 columns, START OF WORK AREA, END OF WORK AREA, AND OVERHEAD CABLES. I want the table to highlight dangerous work areas inbetween two locations. So say if I input 4.0 under START OF WORK AREA,6.0 under END OF WORK AREA the OVERHEAD CABLES column will list all areas with the cables in. I thought of conditional format but I can't highlight certain numbers that are between the range.
Thanks in advance
15 Replies
In your example, what will the Overhead Cables column list? Please elaborate.
I was hoping it would list the locations of the overhead cables highlighted in a colour e.g work area 4.0 to end 8.0, overhead cable 7.6 this in red?.
Thanks for your response
Given the start and end of the work areas, how do you determine the work areas between them and which work area is dangerous?
The work are is the whole area between start and end. And I wanted the condition set so if any of the dangerous locations are inbetween the range they will come up in separate column highlighted in red. The work location will be changed daily so all the dangerous locations I will need in the formula or conditional format so as the work area changes only the dangerous locations in the new range are highlighted.
It seems you already have a given list of dangerous locations and you want to highlight such dangerous locations that are between the start and end work areas. Is that what you want to achieve?
Yes that's what I require. Just not sure how. Thanks
Now it’s clear that dangerous work areas are pre-determined. How about work areas between start and end? How are they determined? At what increments are intermediate work areas determined? At increments of 0.1, such that 9 work areas are between 4.0 and 5.0? I hope so.