SOLVED

Deleting blank rows in excel..... but not deleting partially blank rows

Copper Contributor

Good day.

I'm not a novice in excel.

But this is quite an irritating task that I can't seem to get right with anyone's advice on the internet.

How can I delete blank rows in excel but not delete partially blank rows?

The advise given is on the Home tab> Editing> Find & Select> Go to Special> Blanks. Then under Home> Cells> Delete> Delete sheet rows.

This deletes partially blank rows as well.

Please help

12 Replies

Mr Douw,

How is your query doing?

If it is going nowhere, (I hope this is not a violation of forum policies.)

I am recommending some knowledgeable persons in the forum who can help you.

Misters Man Fai Chan, Matt Mickle, Wyn Hopkins, Jan Karel Pieterse, Jamil Mohammad (haven't heard from him though for quite some time now, but he is very helpful) .. to name a few.

Good luck..

best response confirmed by Douw de Beer (Copper Contributor)
Solution

Dear Community.

It was suggested that I should share the information that helped me on the forum so that everyone can benefit from it. I totally agree. So here it is:

Suppose your last column with data is column Z.

Add this formula to AA1:

=COUNTA(A1:Z1)

Double-click the fill handle to fill down (double-check if all rows are filled with the formula, if not, copy down as far as needed).

Now turn on filter and filter the table for the value of zero in that new column.

Use goto special, blanks now and do the delete. Then remove the filter.

Dear Douw de Beer,

It is an interesting way. Thanks for your sharing. I helped Mr Kim in his project before but did not think this way of solution. I recorded the macro as below:

Cells.Select
Selection.AutoFilter
Range("H9").Select
ActiveSheet.Range("$A$1:$E$20").AutoFilter Field:=5, Criteria1:="0"
Rows("4:20").Select
Selection.Delete Shift:=xlUp
Range("C21").Select
Selection.AutoFilter