Counting words in one column based on dates in another column.

Copper Contributor

Hi Everyone,

I am looking for help coming up with a formula to do the following...

In the A column I have a clients status which is either "Completed", "AMA", or "Admin'

In the B column I have a discharge date which ranges from Jan 2015 to November 2017

What I'm looking to do is count the occurrences of of the clients status by month over the past 3 years. For example I want to see the count of how many clients were Completed, AMA, or Admin between January 1st 2015 and January 31st 2015 and then so on month by month until October 2017 broken down by month.

I've tried to look around to find a formula that would consider the date in Column B and then look at the status word in column A to count but have had not luck.  

Any help with this is much appreciated.

Thank You

9 Replies

Hi Matt,

Did you try PivotTable?

Hi Sergei,

No I have not.  I am rather new to excel and am not familiar with Pivot Tables or how they work.  Can you provide any instructions on how to use one for the particular problem.

Thanks,
Matt

Matt,

First two links I found with PivotTable basics

https://support.office.com/en-us/article/Create-a-PivotTable-to-analyze-worksheet-data-A9A84538-BFE9...

http://www.excel-easy.com/data-analysis/pivot-tables.html,

google will give much more.

For your case

Better if you work with Excel Tables, if not the range works as well. Select one which is with your data,

in ribbon Insert->Pivot Table. 

PivotTable pane will appear, add Date to rows, Status to Columns and Values. Result looks like

PivotTable.JPG

After that is adjusting - how to group dates, how to design the table.

Hi Segey and Matt
why not use countifs?

Yossi

Hi Yossi,

For such kind of tasks formulas (COUNTIFS, SUMPRODUCT, whatever) is less flexible and more time consuming solution compare to PivotTables.