SOLVED

Copy & Paste Issue

Copper Contributor

I'm not very tech savvy, but I've been using Excel on a daily basis, for many years. All of a sudden, when I copy an item that is centered, it comes out all the way to the left when I paste it.

I assume I must have inadvertantly hit some setting to change this feature, but I can't find my way back. Can anyone please help?

11 Replies

Dear Jon Hall,

Kindly try pasting as values (Paste Special > Values) and check if your issue gets resolved.

What is the alignment of the cell from which you are copying the data and

the alignment of the cell to which you are pasting the data?

Vijaykumar Shetye,

Spreadsheet Excellence,

Panaji, Goa, India

best response confirmed by Jon Hall (Copper Contributor)
Solution

Hi Jon,

For my knowledge Excel has no setting to change default Copy/Paste behaviour (in opposite, for example, to Word) - it always transfers values with cell formatting.

Did I understand correctly you use simple Copy/Paste (main icons; or Ctrl+C/Ctrl+V; or Ctrl+Ins/Shift+Ins), without applying Paste Special from supporting submenu (e.g. Ctrl+arrow keys after you pasted the value)?

And you copy/paste within one sheet or between different files?

Thank you both for responding to my problem. Unfortunately, my issue remains unresolved. I tried going to "Paste Special", but as I noted, I’m fairly tech illiterate, and I couldn't find anything that helped.