SOLVED

Convert information in a cell into words

Copper Contributor
Good day,
I'm new to the message boards and only know basic Excel. I need to find a way for Excel to take the information in a cell and automatically convert it into words.
I receive emails with color codes that I need to be converted into the actual color, ie 06X1 = bronze oxide. At this time it has to be done manually, which is a pain.
Any help would be appreciated.
10 Replies

Do you have a list of all of the codes and color names that you reference then?

Is the color code in cell by itself?

I do have an Excel sheet with the codes and what color they reference, they are separated into different cells. The Excel sheet sent by email has the code in its own cell as well. The sheet references cars we receive in so there are columns for Vin, stock #, color code, etc.

OK, This should be fairly straightforward, are you able to share a partial sample? (I'll walk you through this either way but as you said your Excel knowledge is pretty basic, would be easier if you could share a sample)

I attached a sample. I hope it helps. 

OK, I am going to assume your other sheet has 2 columns one with the paint code and one with the name.

In the cell to the right of 06X1 on the sheet you posted (I am assuming 06X1 is in F1, so the cell to the right would be G1) enter     =Vlookup(F1,    Then select the columns on the sheet with the paint codes and paint names,    then  ,2,false) then hit enter, you should be able to ten copy the formula down column G to populate everything on the sheet. 

The formula should read:   =VLOOKUP(F1,[Book2]Sheet1!$A:$B,2,FALSE)

where [Book2] is the name of the workbook and Sheet1 is the name of the sheet in that workbook with all of the paint colors codes

Again, I am assuming the workbook containing the codes/color names has color code in Column A and Color name in column B, if that's not the case let me know and we can revise this.