SOLVED

Convert Text to Date Format

Copper Contributor

Hello everyone,

I'm just an excel newbie and I've been finding ways on how to convert a date text string to date format. I find it peculiar that after transferring all my CSV files through a flash drive, then into another machine, my dates messed up but it was all in the correct format before. See attached photo below for the outcome. How do I fix this? 

11 Replies
best response confirmed by Nina_SC (Copper Contributor)
Solution

@Nina_SC 

Hi Nina,

you can use this macro, see attached file to convert dates. It converts all dates in selection to real date.

Sub KonvertDate()
Dim rngCell As Range

For Each rngCell In Selection
rngCell.Value = CDate(rngCell.Value)
Next rngCell

End Sub

Best regards from germany

Bernd

www.vba-tanker.com - a database full of macros

@Nina_SC ,

You may select your column, on ribbon Data->Text to Columns. On second step of the wizard select as delimiter any symbol which is not appears in you data

image.png

On third step select Date and MDY

image.png

It is assumed your default date format is m/dd/yyyy

@Sergei Baklan 

Hi Sergei,

Thank you for your reply. I did what you have instructed but still no visible change though. Is there another workaround I could do? 

Nina

@Nina_SC 

Your issue is common when going from data in one date format e.g. US to another e.g. UK / Australian

I did a video on it here on how Power Query in Excel can fix it

https://youtu.be/JL_HpxUfN4Mhttps://www.linkedin.com/pulse/fixing-us-date-format-nightmare-wyn-hopki...

There's also a long formula solution attached..

@Nina_SC 

One extra note to flag,  don't open then save your CSVs,  use Power Query to pull the data in without opening the original CSVs.

In your example most solutions will leave the circled values as 3rd January, 3rd February but I'm guessing the original dates were 1st and 2nd of March

image.png