Any previous communities for MS help?

Copper Contributor

Hello, newbie here! A long time ago, in a galaxy far, far away, I used to use a community for asking/learning about Excel, Word, etc. I'm pretty sure it was "official" and not an obviously 3rd party site. I've just joined this one thinking I'd find all my old Q&A, but sadly this has not been the case! 
Can anyone recall if there were any other communities prior to this one? Has this one replaced older ones? 
Bit of an odd question, I know, but I'm trying to pick up my old Excel habits again, and I'd find it useful to be able to re-read all my old posts! 

11 Replies

Hi Allan,

Lot of them. You may use this one, answers.microsoft.com which is more close to support; bit more technical https://social.technet.microsoft.com/Forums/en-US/home or https://stackoverflow.com/. All of them are followed by Microsoft people. Perhaps something else what I forgot.

Hi Sergei,

For correction, Stack Overflow isn't affiliated to Microsoft, it's affiliated to Stack Exchange Inc.

It's mainly used for computer programming questions and not specific in Microsoft products and services.

Yes, that's true, but Microsoft people follow this resource, as well as many MVP:s are also here.

Many thanks Sergei! Thought it might've been answers.microsoft.com but I didn't see anything of mine in there. I'm still using the same email address so any old posts would be recoverable if they were there!

If you come up wth any more I'd appreciate hearing back from you.

Hi Allan,

If you'd like to find your old posts and remember your old nickname/email address why don't you google on it?

To narrow the search you may use something like

<nickname/address/whatever> site:answers.microsoft.com

in search string

I have tried that Sergei. What I'm looking for does not show up...so they ain't there!

I'll just have to do without them...but thanks for your assistance with my question.