Pivot table - showing text value and multiple charts

Copper Contributor

I hope that it is clear what I am trying to achieve here. You'll have to forgive me, I'm a complete and utter novice who navigates excel usually using just the standard buttons on the ribbon! I want to create a pivot table to show the varying different communications and events that happen within a given month within my organisation. 

Desired Pivot

Ability to filter by month(s) with a general count of event/communication types. Then the ability to show more information for selected types (e.g. the date of). 

Current data

Columns: Date, Month, Name, Campaign, Type, Service/s, Send to and Sent from

NB. Campaign, services, send to and sent from will only have a value if the data is about a mailing rather than an Awareness Day or Charity event. 
EX1.png

Pivot Attempt

My current Pivot is OK but not "quite there". I can filter with months and it'll show me all the happenings within that month, which is great but I want a little more, if possible. 

1) For the date, sent from and send to information to show when I filter too (e.g. would know the Mental Wellbeing EDM would be sent on 23rd May to Active and Inactive volunteers from VET)

2) On a separate table (using same filter) to show a simple count of each type e.g. Filter to June, then show EDM - 4, Awareness Days - 5, Internal Comms - 3 etc. 

3) The "service/s" column could have multiple options (e.g. caring and money, volunteering and fundraising) is there a way to count this. So I could say e.g. in May, there are 4 events which fall under Caring (this would count an EDM just noted as 'caring' in service column but also 3 awareness days which were put under services as 'mental wellbeing, caring and money' for example. (I hope that's clear??)

Any thoughts, really appreciated! 

3 Replies

Calleigh-Marie-