Cannot select existing Availability Set when creating a new VM

Copper Contributor

Hello,

I have an MSDN subscription and am starting to learn Azure

from portal.azure.com I create the following items in no particular order

1) Virtual Network

2) Public IP Address

3) Storage Group

4) Load Balancer (which I associated with the Public IP Address)

5) Availability Set

I understand if I want to NAT Public facing IP address/port to my VM in Azure I need to setup a Load Balancer/Public IP address and place the new VM (created last) into an Availability Set (although I still not sure why I need to use an Availability set when I want to use NAT rules).

Any how, I then went on to create a VM (Windows 2012 R2 data centre) but it did not show my existing Availability Set (it just gave me the choice of creating a new one), but my availability set it there and ready.

Is this a bug in Azure or am I doing something wrong?

also, do I really need an Availabily Set (apart from the obvious static public IP and load balancer) ir order to ultimately setup my own NAT rules?

Please advise

Thanks

__AUser

6 Replies

The availability set has to be in the same Resource group as the VM's you are trying to deploy.

That said, you do not need to create an availability set for Port forwarding in Resource manager.

BUT the availability set allows Azure to know these 2 machines cover a vital role, and they should not take them both offline at the same time.
The load balancer can attach single machines or a entire Availability sets to make management easier.

any machine added to an availability set marked as a backend pool will automatically partake in recieving the traffic

Hello Kent

Thanks for taking the time to reply to my question.

I wonder if I am experiancing somesort of bug but I get the same result in Windows Edge Brower and Internet Explorer

I am using Windows 10 version 10.0.14393 and build 14393