Run-Time Error 3340: Do NOT have problem updates installed

Copper Contributor

Like many others, I returned to work today (11/18) only to find our app spitting out this Run-Time 3340, query is corrupt error. I tried searching the latest updates for the problem updates (KB4484127, KB4484119, KB4484113, and KB3085368) and none of these are present on the machine in question. The developer for the app we're using also suggested trying a fix for office 365, which did not work (we don't, as far as I can tell, actually use office 365 on that machine, so I wasn't really expecting a fix there to work). Does anyone know of any other update that might be causing this issue? I am not technical enough to know where to begin with Microsoft's suggested code fix, and with none of the problematic updates being present, I'm stumped as to where else to look to fix the issue.

19 Replies

@thefaydra check if this helps : 

To downgrade version, you need to launch CMD.EXE as Administrator and then add 2 lines:

[Office 2016/2019]

cd %programfiles%\Common Files\Microsoft Shared\ClickToRun
officec2rclient.exe /update user updatetoversion=16.0.12130.20272

Office [2013 with windows 32-bit]

cd %programfiles%\Microsoft Office 15\ClientX86 officec2rclient.exe /update user updatetoversion=15.0.5179.1000 

Office [2013 with windows 64-bit]

cd %programfiles%\Microsoft Office 15\ClientX64 officec2rclient.exe /update user updatetoversion=15.0.5179.1000

@thefaydra 

Hi.  What version/build of Office do you have? (where to get this information unfortunately depends on which version/build you have, but try starting with File/Account or File/Help).

KB4484127 is specific to Office 2010, KB4484119 to Office 2013, and KB4484113/KB3085368 are for Office 2016 MSI installations.  

If you don't have any of those updates, it suggests that you have either Office 2016 Click-to-run, or Officed 365.  If you do, you can use File/Account/UpdateOptions/UpdateNow to get a fix for this issue.